How To Be A MASTER Bluegrass Musician!

Image634862307884380655Well if you’re Canadian, it’s relatively simple – just win the Eastern Canada Bluegrass Music Awards in the same category at least five times and voila, you’re a “Master”.

Masters are then no longer eligible to compete for the same honor.  According to Dennis Moore, chairman of this year’s awards being held Saturday, “…this allows a chance for others to receive the awards.”

This will be the first year in the history of the awards that previous award winners will be featured on stage.  A slightly different arrangement will also occur.   In previous years, several awards were announced in between featured acts.  This year the committee has bunched the awards together in the first half of the awards show and the second have will feature the Masters…including a chance to Jam on stage.

More than 20 awards in various categories will be awarded during the night.

Specific Details

WHAT: 28th annual Eastern Canada Bluegrass Music Awards

WHEN: Oct. 20, 7 p.m.

WHERE: Cobequid Educational Centre, Lorne Street, Truro, Canada

HOSTED BY: The Downeast Bluegrass & Oldtime Music Society.

TICKETS: Available in advance through all TicketPro outlets or at the door (subject to availability).








Ryan Dillman (Shadow River) Terry Mumford (A New Shade Of Blue) Dan Fraser Megan Isenor (Megan Isenor & Connections)

Kyle Doucet (Mountain River)

Daniel Lewis (Mountain River)

Kyle Doucet (Mountain River) Brian Hazlett (Shadow River) George Grant Lukas Munroe (Blue Tie Affair)

Todd Maccumber (A New Shade Of Blue)

Doug Proctor (Shadow River)

Darren Richard (Bluegrass Tradition) Karen Decoste (Bluegrass Tradition)

Doug Proctor

Eddy Poirier (Poirier Family Band / Janet McGarry & Wildwood)

Jeff Nauss (Eight Wheel Drive)

Dean Simm (A New Shade Of Blue)



Vocal Group

Female Vocalist*

Male Vocalist

Bluegrass Tradition

Karen Decoste (Bluegrass Tradition) Glen Williams (Eight Wheel Drive)

Shadow River

Roxeen Roberts (Blue Tie Affair) Dean Simm (A New Shade Of Blue)

Mountain River

Allison Simm (A New Shade Of Blue) David Doyle (Shadow River)
  Christal Thibault (New Ground)  


Band of the Year

Most Promising Band

Individual Entertainer

A New Shade Of Blue

Eight Wheel Drive

Serge Bernard (Janet McGarry & Wildwood)

Bluegrass Tradition

Mountain River

Doug Proctor (Shadow River)

Shadow River



Darren Richard (Bluegrass Tradition)


Gospel Performance

Recording of the Year

Composer of the Year

Janet McGarry & Wildwood

Janet McGarry

Laura Lee Jennex
Bluegrass Tradition

A New Shade of Blue

Ryan Dillman
Close to Home

Joe Casey & Westwind

Trevor Boutillier
Mountain River    


Promoter of the Year

Emcee of the Year

Radio / TV DJ of the Year

Anne-Marie & Maurice Melanson Bob Sharples Wayne Dugas - Vive la bluegrass (CIFA 104.1 FM Saulnierville)
Danisha Comeau Ken Edwards

Charlie Hansen - Bluegrass Island (CFCY 99.5 FM Charlottetown)

Jerry Murphy Wilson Moore

Wilson Moore - The Bluegrass Jam (CFTA 107.9 FM Amherst / CHMA 106.9 FM Sackville)

The Downeast Society presents a Fan of the Year award each year which is chosen by a committee appointed by the Society from submissions received from various Bluegrass Associations.

The Society adopts at least one Lifetime Member each year, also chosen by a committee appointed by the Society for outstanding contribution to the Society, their home Association and Bluegrass in general.

After the show, fans have a chance to meet and congratulate the Award Winners and nominees during a free Awards Reception right at the Cobequid Education Centre.

The Downeast Society are members of the International Bluegrass Music Association.


No comments: