Alan Jackson Latest Country Superstar To Release ‘BLUEGRASS ALBUM’

Image635097701420763345Country music superstar Alan Jackson will release his first bluegrass album – appropriately titled The Bluegrass Album – on September 24.

Jackson has openly expressed his desire to record a bluegrass album for years.

This spring, a group of some of the best players and singers in bluegrass came together, emerging in a matter of days with the completed acoustic album.

He enlisted Scott Coney (acoustic guitar), Sammy Shelor (banjo), Adam Steffey (mandolin), Tim Crouch (fiddle), Tim Dishman (bass), Rob Ickes (dobro) and Ronnie Bowman and Don Rigsby (vocals).

Jackson wrote eight songs for the album, which also includes other originals and a couple of well-known standards of the genre. The Bluegrass Album will be released on ACR (Alan’s Country Records)/EMI Records Nashville and is produced by Keith Stegall and Jackson’s nephew, Adam Wright.

Originals that Jackson penned for the album include such titles as “Blacktop,” “Blue Ridge Mountain Song” and “Mary.” Covers on The Bluegrass Album include The Dillards’ “There Is A Time,” John Anderson’s “Wild and Blue” and a ¾-time version of Bill Monroe’s seminal “Blue Moon of Kentucky.”

The Bluegrass Album track listing:

    • 1.) Long Hard Road – Alan Jackson
    • 2.) Mary – Alan Jackson
    • 3.) Appalachian Mountain Girl – Alan Jackson
    • 4.) Tie Me Down – Alan Jackson
    • 5.) Way Beyond The Blue – Mark D. Sanders/Randy Albright/Lisa Silver
    • 6.) Ain’t Got Trouble Now – Adam Wright
    • 7.) Blue Ridge Mountain Song – Alan Jackson
    • 8.) Blacktop – Alan Jackson
    • 9.) Blue Side of Heaven – Alan Jackson
    • 10.) There Is A Time – Rodney Dillard/Mitch Jayne
    • 11.) Wild and Blue – John Scott Sherrill
    • 12.) Knew All Along – Adam Wright/Shannon Wright
    • 13.) Let’s Get Back to Me and You – Alan Jackson
    • 14.) Blue Moon of Kentucky – Bill Monroe

No comments: