First Solo Album from Alice Gerrard in 10 Years!

Image635091479820466761Bittersweet is Alice Gerrard’s first solo album in 10 years.  Produced by the award winning Laurie Lewis, the album is set for release on July 16th, 2013.

Bittersweet is a step in a new direction for Alice in that all 13 songs on the disc are original compositions by her. Although she’s had a few original songs on other albums, Alice says:

I finally decided now that I’m an old woman, it was time to do a complete album in my own voice-my songs.”

Recorded in Nashville, Bittersweet features an ace backing band of Grammy award winners such as bluegrass guitarist, Brian Sutton; fiddler, Stuart Duncan; acoustic bassist, Todd Phillips; mandolinist, Tom Rozum and dobro master Rob AliceIckes.

Three of the 13 songs on this album have been previously released but are now out of print. The other 10 are fresh and new.

Alice Gerrard’s lifelong devotion to the music of the American South helped spark multiple folk music revivals and recordings of her music have been lynchpins for younger musicians coming to the fold.   Alice Gerrard is a pioneering and inspirational figure in the world of America acoustic music.


  1. Lonely Night
  2. Bittersweet
  3. Sweet South Anna River
  4. Tell Me Their Story
  5. Somebody Have Mercy
  6. Maybe This Time
  7. Unexpected Love
  8. Borderland
  9. The Stranger
  10. Play Me a Song I Can Cry To
  11. Payday at the Mill
  12. My Once True Love
  13. Sun Keep Shining on Me

No comments: