New Scenic Roots CD Celebrates the Lives of Two Young Girls!

Image635442783872679730Scenic Roots, a sister duo from Concordia, KS, released their newest album on August 10th.

The project is entitled “Reverie” and was produced by the nationally acclaimed bluegrass band “Nu-Blu” in Siler City, NC.

The recording features Scenic Roots members Erin Rogers on mountain dulcimer and vocals, and Amber Rogers on fiddle, banjos, and vocals. The album is a collection of fun songs, highlighting the playful side of Scenic Roots.

Georgia Trost- Georgia is now healthy and active.  Reverie was produced in her honor. Darlynn Kemling - Darlynn joins Scenic Roots on stage at a house concert in 2009.  Reverie was produced in her memory.It is dedicated to two young girls who battled serious illness—Georgia Trost, who fought a rare autoimmune disease and is now a healthy nine-year old; and Darlynn Kemling, who lost her battle with cancer and lung failure at age eight.

Erin and Amber wanted to do something special to remember and honor these two special girls and their families; the Reverie album is the final result.

Reverie is defined as “a daydream; a fantastic, visionary, or impractical idea.” The Rogers sisters try hard to live a lifestyle of “reverie.” They love to dream big, step out in faith, and try new things. Says Erin, “We hope this project will make folks smile, while inspiring them to pursue their own big dreams.” Songs like John Hartford’s “Going to Work in Tall Buildings” remind listeners that there is more to life than bringing in a paycheck, while songs like “Rabbit In A Log” remind them not to take life too seriously. “Reverie” is available online at www.scenicroots.com and through online distributers including iTunes and Amazon.

From the liner notes:

It's about living life to the fullest, celebrating each moment.

It's about daring to hope, even when we feel hopeless

It's about dreaming, believing that dreams come true.

It's about faith that God knows what He is doing, even when it doesn't make sense.

It's about taking chances, not knowing how many chances we'll have.

It's about fulfilling our life purpose, crazy as it may seem.

Track List for Reverie

  • 1. Big Eyed Rabbit
  • 2. Hand On The Plow
  • 3. In Tall Buildings
  • 4. Jenny’s Welcome to Charlie/The Morning Dew
  • 5. Twa Sisters
  • 6. Rabbit In A Log
  • 7. Cluck Ol’ Hen
  • 8. Little Angels
  • 9. Red Rocking Chair
  • 10. Southwind
  • 11. Old Grimes
  • 12. Turkey In The Straw

No comments: