Seldom Scene & Sleepy Man Win Independent Music Awards!

Image635726533003082195The Independent Music Awards [The IMAs] announced today that Amy Lee, The Seldom Scene, Dawn Landes, Edie Carey & Sarah Sample, Bent Knee, Jodee Lewis, Flaco Jiménez & Max Baca, Runa, The Show Ponies, Pompeya and Elizabeth & The Catapult are among the Judge-selected Winners of the 14th annual Independent Music Awards, the influential program for self-released and indie label artists and releases.

The Seldom Scene won in the Bluegrass album category for their album LONG TIME ....SELDOM SCENE and  also in the Song Category for "Mean Mother Blues".  

Sleepy Man (formerly Sleepy Man Banjo Boys) took honors in the Americana Song Category for "Flesh & Bones"

The top honors awarded to this year's exceptional, international mix of musicians and visual artists in more than 80 Album, Song, EP, Music Producer, Design and Music Video categories were culled from nominated projects announced earlier this year.

The Winners were determined by a blue-ribbon panel of recording artists, talent buyers, producers & media including Sharon Jones, Amanda Palmer, Kenny Wayne Shepherd, Lila Downs, Chris & Oliver Wood, Shelby Lynne, Jane Monheit, Lunice, Raul Midon, Suzanne Vega, Melissa Auf der Maur, Meshell Ndegeocello, Arturo Sandoval, Judy Collins, Adam Agee, Weird Al Yankovic, Nathan Currin, Deon Rexroat Jonathan Stengard, Bernie Worrell, John Mandeville and Dennis Diken among industry panelists including Anthony DeCurtis, Terry McBride, Jason Olaine, Bob Ludwig, Benji Rogers and others. A full list of judges is available at


Now in its 15th year, The Independent Music Awards receives submissions from artists previously on major labels as well as self-released and indie label talent from more than 94 countries on six continents.

Produced by Music Resource Group, publisher of the popular industry contact database The Musician's Atlas, The IMA program uses its unrivaled access to performance, promotion and distribution outlets to connect thousands of innovative musicians, labels, producers & visual artists to new distribution opportunities and millions of fans.

"From traditional to avant garde and every music genre in between, The IMAs celebrate the exceptional work of music makers and visual artists who dare to follow their passion to create something extraordinary, including passionate fans," said Martin Folkman, Executive Director of The IMAs.

Submissions for the 15th Independent Music Awards will open in Fall, 2015.

No comments: