Nominees For IBMA’s Momentum Awards Announced!

Image635749690309532255The International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA) announced the nominees for this year’s Momentum Awards.

The winners of the 2015 Momentum Awards will be presented with their awards at a luncheon on Wednesday, September 30 in Raleigh, North Carolina, as part of IBMA’s World of Bluegrass event,  September 29 -October 3.

This year’s Momentum Award nominees are:

Performance Award nominees, Instrumentalists (final committee will select 3)

  • Annie Staninec (fiddle)
  • Casey Campbell (mandolin, fiddle)
  • Molly Tuttle (guitar, banjo)
  • Nate Lee (fiddle, mandolin)
  • Paul Kowert (bass)
  • Patrick McAvinue (fiddle)
  • John Mailander (fiddle, mandolin)
  • Bryan McDowell (fiddle, guitar)

Performance Award nominees, Vocalist (final committee to select 1)

  • Savannah Church (The Church Sisters)
  • Alysha Bankester (The Bankesters)
  • Kim Robins (Kim Robins and 40 Years Late)
  • Louise Holden (I Draw Slow)
  • Summer McMahan (Mountain Faith)

Performance Award nominees, Band (final committee to select 1):

  • I Draw Slow
  • Lonely Heartstring Band
  • Twisted Pine
  • Haas Kowert Tice

Industry Involvement Award nominees, Media/Artisan/Business/General

  • Alan Tompkins (promoter, radio broadcaster, association leader)
  • Casey Freeland (association executive director)
  • Daniel Mullins (journalist, radio broadcaster)
  • Erin Scholze (publicist)

Nominees for Festival/Event/Venue

  • HoustonFest – Galax, VA
  • Outer Banks Bluegrass Festival – Manteo, NC
  • ISIS Restaurant and Music Hall – Asheville, NC
  • PineCone Youth Camp – Cary, NC
  • Christmas in the Smokies - Pidgeon Forge, TN

Mentor Award (given to a bluegrass professional who has made a significant impact on the lives and careers of newcomers to the bluegrass industry):

  • Alan Tompkins (promoter, radio broadcaster, association leader)
  • Andrea Roberts (Andrea Roberts Agency)
  • Daniel Boner (director, Bluegrass, Old Time, and Country Music Studies at ETSU)
  • Ken Irwin (Rounder Records)
  • Woody Platt (Steep Canyon Rangers)

The Momentum Awards were instituted in 2012 to recognize both musicians and bluegrass industry professionals who, while in the early stages of their careers, have contributed to, or had an influence on, bluegrass music. These contributions can be to bluegrass music in general, or done in a specific part of the industry. 

Starting with recommendations from the IBMA membership, nominees are chosen by committees through a multi-stage process involving respected musicians and industry leaders in the bluegrass world.

The 2015 Momentum Awards are sponsored by The Crooked Road – Virginia Tourism, The Boston Bluegrass Union, and AirPlay Direct.

No comments: