Unspoken Tradition Releases New CD!

Image635811732513647183From the hotbed of North Carolina's Bluegrass country, in a region where great picking and singing is the norm, Unspoken Tradition rises to the top.

The Cherryville-based five piece band follows its acclaimed first release Simple Little Town with a stellar sophomore effort in Miles Between.

Like the debut release, which included Top 20 placement on the Bluegrass Unlimited Radio Chart, Miles Between is predominantly original songs written by members of the band. The songs are played with passion and the lyrics are highly personal and thoughtful - sometimes tragic.

Track List:

1.         Point of Rocks Station 3:41
2.         One Mule Plow 2:18
3.         The Bullet 3:10
4.         Been In Love Before 2:56
5.         Miles Between Them 3:26
6.         Rivers That I've Crossed 3:08
7.         Losers Like Me 3:29
8.         Rattlesnake Run 2:55
9.         One More Drink 4:07
10.       Who Will Sing 3:25

From the syncopated kick-off with "Point of Rocks Station," written by Paula Breedlove and Brad Davis, to the super bluesy timing switch-up of "One More Drink," penned by Lee Shuford, Miles Between is both exciting and original.

"The Bullet," written by Audie McGinnis, breaks down presumed stereotypical Bluegrass subject matter and gives the listener a unique perspective on conflict through the unexpected point of view of an inanimate object.

"Been In Love Before" by Ty Gilpin is a song with a bitter tinge about love lost, but not forgotten and "Rivers That I've Crossed" by Lee Shuford tells of a tragedy that's heartbreaking with the vocal emotion to match. The title track "Miles Between Them" from Audie McGinnis is a relatable song about relationships tested by life on the road.

Miles Between includes a fast moving traditional style instrumental from Gilpin where high speed, melodic breaks trade off each other. The band also includes what was a trademark subject from their previous album - the struggle of making a living from the land - with "One Mule Plow" written by Patrick McDougal.

With this release, Unspoken Tradition rises to the challenge faced by every artist; following a strong debut with and even more impressive second album.

The band consists of Audie McGinnis (Guitar, Vocals), Lee Shuford (Bass, Vocals), Tim Gardner (Fiddle, Vocals), Ty Gilpin (Mandolin, Vocals), and Zane McGinnis (Banjo) -

No comments: