IBMA Winners - 2016

imageEntertainer of the Year – Earls of Leicester
Album of the Year – Runaway Train – Flatt Lonesome (artist), Mountain Home Music
Instrumental Group Of The Year – Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen
Song of the Year – You’re the One – Flatt Lonesome (artist), Dwight Yoakum (writer), Mountain Home Music

Emerging Artist of the Year – Mountain Faith
Vocal Group of the Year – Flatt Lonesome
Male Vocalist of the Year – Danny Paisley
Female Vocalist of the Year – Becky Buller
Guitar Player of the Year – Bryan Sutton
Fiddle Player of the Year – Becky Buller
Mandolin Player of the Year – Sierra Hull
Bass Player of the Year – Barry Bales
Dobro Player of the Year – Jerry Douglas
Banjo Player of the Year – Charlie Cushman
Recorded Event Of The Year – Longneck Blues – Junior Sisk and Ronnie Bowman (artist), Poor Boy’s Pleasure (album), Mountain Fever
Instrumental Recorded Performance Of The Year – Fireball – Special Consensus featuring Rob Ickes, Trey Hensley, and Alison Brown (artist), Long I Ride (album), Compass Records
Gospel Recorded Performance Of The Year – All Dressed Up – Joe Mullins and the Radio Ramblers (artist), Sacred

The three founders of Rounder Records - Ken Irwin, Marian Leighton Levy (who delivered the Keynote Address to the IBMA Conference earlier this week) and Bill Nowlin - who launched the venerable label in 1970, were inducted into the Bluegrass Music Hall of Fame.
Alison Krauss, who signed to Rounder in 1985 at the age of 14, inducted the trio along with longtime label President John Virant. Their speech, which touched on highlights from the Rounders' 46-year long career, was at turns reverent, hilariously funny, and deeply moving.
John Virant said, "First off, I'd like to congratulate Ken, Marian, and Bill for this well-deserved honor.  For over forty years, they have channeled their deep and abiding love and respect for roots music into a formidable legacy that will enrich the lives of music fans for many years to come. All of us at Rounder are so very proud to work with the visionary founders of this great label, and even prouder to call them our friends."
He continued "All of us at Rounder and Sugar Hill offer our congratulations to our nominees and winners. We are all so fortunate to work with artists of this caliber, and we're exceedingly happy and proud to see them receive this honor from their peers."

No comments: